Woolwich has always been the home of the Royal Regiment of Artillery. The Royal Artillery Barracks,
facing Woolwich Common, were originally erected in 1775. Today, the buildings still house artillery soldiers.
Royal Artillery charts its formation back to 26 May 1716 with the formation of two companies [sic] of artillery at what is
now Woolwich Arsenal. Thus it is fitting that we will formally mark the departure of the regimental home on Saturday 26 May